My coming to the United States

This is my first blog post  since I came to this wonderful country almost 4 months ago. I want to appreciate the Kesslin family for setting up a blog on WordPress. From now on I’m going to share my experience of my journey and training in the United States.

On February 5th, 2014, I got on the airplane in Entebbe, Uganda for a new country I had dreamed of for long time; like most young African men and women. This country was the United States of America. While I was  still in Uganda I kept trying to imagine what I was going to see. To me it was a state of total  confusion but I was confident to accept whatever my eyes were going to see. At exactly 6 PM Uganda time the Qatar jet took off with me on board for Qatar on my long journey to the country which many call the land of opportunity.

After about 6 hours in flight we got to Qatar and that is the country I first saw what is called advanced development of cities. For the first time I was able to see so many people traveling. The following morning I got on a plane and flew for over 10 hours in the sky from Doha to New York, when the flight crew announced we are close to land at JFK Airport. I remembered my old high school geography lesson about New York. This story was now coming true.

When I landed in New york I saw snow for the first time but I did not feel it because I did not leave the Airport, I was transiting to San Diego, California to start a new life for over a year in flight school.

I got my first American reality when I got out of Charles Lindbergh Airport in San Diego. I was riding in my sponsors state of the art Audi car on very clean multiple lane highway, with lights everywhere. When we got home I was so tired that I just slept, when I woke up the following morning I was in the new world.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment